Home Solicitation Permit
What is a Home Solicitation Sale Permit?
To obtain information regarding home solicitation sales, applicants should review Sections 501.021 – 501.055, Florida Statutes.
Pursuant to Florida Statute Chapter 501, persons who engage in the sale, lease or rental of consumer goods or services with a purchase price in excess of $25.00, which includes all interest, service charges, finance charges, postage, freight, insurance, and service or handling charges, whether under single or multiple contracts, made pursuant to an installment contract, a loan agreement, other evidence of indebtedness, or a cash transaction or other consumer credit transaction are required to obtain a Home Solicitation Sale Permit. Refer to Florida Statute 501.022(1)(b) for a list of individuals who are excluded from the permit requirement. The Home Solicitation Sale Permit is good for a period of up to 90 days, 180 days, or 365 days from the date of issuance unless revoked sooner. If the permit holder wishes to renew upon expiration, he or she must repeat the application process in its entirety to obtain a new permit.
How to Apply for a Home Solicitation Sale Permit:
Contact the Escambia County Sheriff’s Office to schedule a time to have your fingerprints submitted for a background check. The Sheriff’s Office provides fingerprinting services from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. There is a charge for this service. For more information regarding how to get fingerprinted and the cost, please contact (850) 436-9630, or visit the Sheriff’s Office’s website at www.escambiaso.com. You will need to provide ORI Number FL717262Z to the Sheriff’s Office when submitting the fingerprints. Make sure you receive a copy of your fingerprints, as they are necessary for Steps 2 and 3.
Visit https://caps.fdle.state.fl.us and remit the required fee for a background check. This fee is non-refundable and must be paid directly to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
Note: a Transaction Control Number (TCN) is required with payment. This number is located on the top left of your fingerprint card. Example: 70TESTCMM0000397
Complete the Home Solicitation Sales Permit Application (link application here), BUT DO NOT SIGN, and deliver it, in person, to the Escambia County Clerk of the Circuit Court’s Official Records Department at 221 Palafox Place, Suite 110, Pensacola, FL 32502. You will also need to bring with you the following:
- Two Passport Style Photos (taken within the last 6 months)
- Government Issued Photo Identification
- Fingerprint Card from the Sheriff
- Non-Refundable Application Fee
- Permit effective 90 days or less: $ 90.00
- Permit effective 180 days or less: $180.00
- Permit effective 365 days or less: $365.00
Upon the completion of the permit application and receipt of all applicable criminal background checks, the Clerk’s Office will either approve or deny the issuance of the Home Solicitation Sales Permit based on the requirements outlined in F.S. 501.022 (4). Please be advised that this decision can take up to 60 days for the FDLE to provide the Clerk’s Office with any criminal justice information.
If the issuance of a Home Solicitation Sales Permit is DENIED, the Clerk’s Office will notify each applicant of this decision by certified mail sent to the address provided on the application.
If the issuance of a Home Solicitation Sales Permit is APPROVED, the Clerk’s Office will schedule an appointment for the applicant to appear in person at the Official Records Department, 221 Palafox Place, Suite 110, Pensacola, FL 32502 for the issuance of the permit badge.