July 30, 2015     
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Court Services > Traffic Citations
Court Services - Traffic Citations

Important: A traffic payment is due in the Clerk's office by the compliance date (within 30 calendar days of issuance date on the citation). Payments received, regardless of postmark, or made after the compliance date will incur an additional late fee and possible suspension of your driver's license.

A Civil Traffic Citation is a noncriminal traffic violation that is not punishable by incarceration and for which there is no right to a trial by jury or a right to court-appointed counsel. Most civil traffic infractions do not require a court appearance, but can be disposed by paying a civil penalty, requesting an infraction hearing, or electing to attend a driver improvement course.

The Clerk of the Court collects all traffic fines and distributes the proceeds according to law. The total amount of a traffic fine consists of amounts required to be paid by Florida Law as well as by County and City ordinances.

OPTIONS

Upon receipt of a civil traffic citation for any non-criminal violation, you have 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket to exercise any of one of three options:

  1. [Pay Online or by Phone]Pay the Ticket.
  2. [Printable Driver Improvement Course Affidavit Form]Attend a Driver Improvement Course.
  3. [Printable Court Election on Traffic Citation Form]Contest the Ticket In Court.


Option 1 - Pay the Ticket

A traffic payment is due in the Clerk's office by the compliance date (within 30 days of receipt of the citation). Payments may be made in person, by phone, by mail, or online. The Clerk's office accepts cash, money orders, traveler's checks, Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express.  All payments, regardless of method, must be received by the Clerk's office by the compliance date.



Option 2 - Attend a Driver Improvement Course

This Driver Improvement Course option may not be available to you if:

  • Your traffic violation requires a mandatory court appearance
  • You possess a valid Class A, B or C commercial drivers license (CDL)
  • You have elected to attend a Florida approved basic driver improvement course within the last 12 calendar months or more than a total of 5 times in a lifetime
  • You are not eligible for Driving School Election as determined by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Online Driver License Check

To choose this option, you first must pay the court costs amount. You will then be given 90 days to successfully complete a Florida approved basic driver improvement course and provide the completion certificate to the Clerk of Court. You may mail or hand deliver the completion certificate to the Clerk's office. The 90 days begins on the date you complete and sign the Traffic Ticket Option Form, or on the date payment was made.

See the yellow pages under "Traffic School" or "Driving Instruction" for Florida approved schools or visit the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.


Failure to comply with the requirements of the Driver Improvement Course election option once you have chosen this option, will result in a report for suspension of your drivers license to the Department of Motor Vehicles; additional court costs, fines and late charges.



Option 3 - Contest the Ticket In Court

If you choose to enter a Not Guilty plea and contest the traffic citation in court, you must notify the Clerk in writing within 30 days of the date the citation was issued to request a traffic infraction hearing using the Court Election on Traffic Citation Form. You may deliver this completed form to the Clerk's office in person or by mail within 30 days of the compliance date. When you choose this option, you plead not guilty and you waive your right to pay the fine or elect to attend a driver improvement course.

After receipt of this completed form by the Clerk, you will receive a notice from the clerk advising you of the date and time of your hearing. If you reside outside of Escambia County, you may attend in person at your own expense or be heard at the hearing by way of an Affidavit of Defense. Subpoenas will be issued for the law enforcement officer as well as any witnesses listed by the officer. You are responsible for making sure any witnesses you want to testify appear at the hearing.

THE COURT MAY IMPOSE A FINE UP TO $500 (IN CASES OF SPEED IN A SCHOOL ZONE, WORK ZONE OR A DEATH, FINE MAY BE $1,000) OR REQUIRE YOU TO ATTEND DRIVER IMPROVEMENT COURSE, OR BOTH.





Contact Information

Traffic Division

Telephone: (850) 595-4360   
OFFICE LOCATION

Room 13001 - First Floor
190 W Government St
Pensacola, Florida  32502
(map)
MAILING ADDRESS
Clerk of the Circuit Court
Traffic Division
P.O. Box 333
Pensacola, Florida  32591-0333


Frequently Asked Questions

How long do I have to pay my traffic citation?
Civil Infractions citations are due to be paid within 30 calendar days from the date of issuance.


What happens if my traffic citation is not paid timely?
An indefinite suspension will be placed against the drivers license until all fines, late fees, and reinstatement fees are paid.


What are my options if I am issued a traffic citation?

Upon receipt of a civil traffic citation for any non-criminal violation, you have 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket to exercise any of one of three options:

  1. [Pay Online or by Phone]Pay the Ticket.
  2. [Printable Driver Improvement Course Affidavit Form]Attend a Driver Improvement Course.
  3. [Printable Court Election on Traffic Citation Form]Contest the Ticket In Court.


How can I obtain my driver's license history?
The Clerk's office can provide you with an official printed copy of your driver's record for a small fee.


What forms of payment do you accept?
Generally, the Clerk's Office accepts cash, personal check, Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express for the payment of filing fees and fines. 


Where can I pay my court fines, fees, and other costs?
You may pay your court fines, fees, and other costs using either of the four methods below.  However, some traffic violations require that you show proof of insurance, drivers license, or other required items before the traffic citation can be considered closed. Failure to do so may result in the suspension of the defendant's drivers license.

  1. Pay in person at our Traffic department located on the first floor of the M.C. Blanchard Judicial Building, 190 W Government St., Pensacola, FL
  2. Pay by phone using a Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express.
  3. Send a check by mail to the Clerk's office, payable to "Clerk of Court"
  4. Pay online

Do you accept payments via telephone?
Yes, we accept payments for traffic fines, court costs, and service charges over the phone using Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express. Payments may be made by calling the Clerk's Traffic Division. The name on the card and the name of the person authorizing payment (the caller) must be the same, unless the card is registered to a business account. A credit card processing fee will be charged for each payment made by phone.


When is my next court date?
For criminal traffic cases, call 850-595-4360 from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM Monday through Friday.


What if I cannot pay my traffic citation within 30 calendar days?
If you are unable to pay your ticket within the 30-day timeframe, you must call the Traffic Division at 850-595-4360 to request a one-time 30-day extension to pay the fine or apply for participation in the Clerk’s Partial Payment Program in order to avoid having your drivers license suspended. If the defendant elects the 30-day extension, and the ticket remains unpaid at the end of the 30 days, no further extensions will be granted and the defendant must enter the Clerk’s Partial Payment Program in order to avoid suspension of the defendant’s drivers license.


How do I elect to attend a driver improvement course for my citation?
This election is for moving traffic citations not requiring a mandatory court appearance (i.e. speeding in excess of 30 MPH). You may not elect to attend driver improvement school for any violation if you hold a commercial drivers license

  • You may elect this option no more than once every 12 months and no more then 5 times in a lifetime.
  • You may appear in person at the Traffic Division to make this election.
  • If you choose to make this election by mail, you must complete and submit the Traffic Ticket Options Form along with the payment for court cost within 30 days from the date of your citation. You may also contact the Traffic Division at 850-595-4360 for the amount of court cost due.
  • You will be given 90 days to complete a Florida approved basic driver improvement course and provide the completion certificate to the Traffic Division. Your 90 days begins the day you make the election to attend the driver improvement school. You may hand deliver the completion certificate to our office or mail it to Clerk of the Circuit Court, Attn: Traffic Division, P.O. Box 333, Pensacola, Florida 32501.
  • You may receive mail from private driver improvement schools or you may contact local schools listed in the phone directory under “Traffic School” or “Driving Instruction”. Additional information may also be found on the website for Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at www.flhsmv.gov.


What are the benefits of attending driver improvement school?
One, no points will be assessed against your drivers license, an two, attending driver improvement school to satisfy the violation will be entered on your driver history record as an “adjudication withheld”.


What happens if I do not attend the driver improvement school I elected?
If you fail to meet the driver school election requirements, you will be adjudicated guilty of the offense and points will be assessed against your license.  Failure to comply will result in a notice for a suspension of your drivers license to the Department of Motor Vehicles including assessment of additional court costs, fines, and service charges.


What happens if my ticket is not paid timely?
An indefinite suspension will be placed against your drivers license until all fines, late fees, and reinstatement fees are paid. If your ticket remains unpaid 30-days from the date of your drivers license suspension, your account is turned over to a collection agency.


Who do I contact if my citation/case has been turned over to the collection agency?
Once your account has been turned over to collections, you have forfeited your right to participate in the Clerk’s partial payment program and you must deal directly with the collection agency for payment information and instructions.


What is a D-6 clearance?
A D-6 is a clearance form showing that you have met all court requirements and/or have paid all outstanding traffic citations. You must provide this form to DHSMV in order to have your drivers license reinstated. The Escambia County Clerk's Traffic Division can reinstate your drivers license for a fee of $60.00.




Forms

NOTICE
Please read the instructions for the forms that you are downloading.
Additional forms may be needed depending on your situation.

NOTE: The forms supplied by the Clerk's office are general in nature and may not meet your specific needs. The Clerk does not guarantee the legal sufficiency of these forms; therefore, you may need to consult with an attorney regarding your particular situation.



Related Resources


NOTE: Most of the "Related Resource" links above are not maintained by the Clerk.