December 8, 2016     
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Court Services > Boating Violations
Court Services - Boating Violations

Persons cited for Boating Violations in Escambia County may schedule court events or make payments at the Clerk's Office, depending on the type of violation. Boating Violations may include, but are not limited to:

  • Failure to carry required safety equipment on the boat/vessel
  • Anchoring to a channel marker or buoy
  • Failure to have current registration certificate
  • Careless operation of a boat/vessel



Contact Information

County Criminal / Misdemeanor Division

Telephone: (850) 595-4185   
OFFICE LOCATION

Room 23007 - Second Floor
190 W Government St
Pensacola, Florida  32502
(map)
MAILING ADDRESS
Clerk of the Circuit Court
County Criminal Division
P.O. Box 333
Pensacola, Florida  32591-0333


Frequently Asked Questions

Please refer to the following:


How do I pay for a boating violation?
If the body of water on which you received the citation straddles two counties, check the ticket to see which county you were cited in.

You may pay your court fines, fees, restitution, and other costs using either of the three methods below.  However, some traffic violations require that you show proof of insurance, drivers license, or other required items before the traffic citation can be considered closed. Failure to do so may result in the suspension of the defendant's drivers license.

  1. Pay in person at our County Criminal department located on the second floor of the M.C. Blanchard Judicial Building, 190 W Government St., Pensacola, FL
  2. Pay by phone using a Mastercard or Visa
  3. Send a check by mail to the Clerk's office, payable to "Clerk of Court"

How long do I have to pay for fishing or boating violation?
Generally, these are civil infractions with fines that can be paid through the mail. A boating violation must be paid within 30 days of the date on the citation. That means that within the 30 days after the date of the ticket you may pay the fine and do not have to appear in court.

If you do not pay the fine before the 30 days is up or you intend to contest the charge, you must appear in court at the time and place designated on your ticket.


More Facts on Boating Violations?
As with a traffic ticket, if you choose to go to court and contest the ticket, you waive your right to the civil penalty and can be assessed a fine of up to $500. Anyone receiving two or more boating infractions within a 12-month period may be required to attend a boating safety course.




Forms

NOTE: The forms supplied by the Clerk's office are general in nature and may not meet your specific needs. The Clerk does not guarantee the legal sufficiency of these forms; therefore, you may need to consult with an attorney regarding your particular situation.



Related Resources


NOTE: Most of the "Related Resource" links above are not maintained by the Clerk.